What we love to read

What we love to read February 2016

We have a 3-year-old boy and a 1-year-old girl and we read at least 3 books to each of them before nap time and before bed. Because we read so much I am always on the hunt for new books.  Here are our current favorites.

Those Darn Squirrels! by Adam Rubin and Illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

My son thinks it’s so funny that Old Man Fookwire is so grumpy and loves to say “those darn squirrels” along with him.  He also loves the illustrations and asks a million questions about what each bird or squirrel is doing.  This is a hit!

Happy Valentine’s Day, Curious George by N. Di Angelo and Illustrated by Mary O’Keefe Young

My son received this book over a year ago from his great Aunt and he loved it then and he still loves it now.  I figured since Valentines day was coming up we better talk about it 🙂 My son loves George but I think the main appeal of this one is the fold-out flaps that get to be opened on every page.

The Big Green Book of Beginner Books by Dr. Seuss

I saw this collection at TJMaxx and had to get it since it included Wacky Wednesday.  We love Wacky Wednesday but our version has seen better days.  The corners have been chewed by one of our dogs and the spine is barely holding the pages in.  I thought for sure my son would immediately want to read Wacky Wednesday but we have yet to read that one. The collection includes Great Day for Up! (illustrated by Quentin Blake); I Am Not Going to Get Up Today! (illustrated by James Stevenson); I Wish That I Had Duck Feet (illustrated by T. Tobey); Maybe You Should Fly a Jet! Maybe You Should Be a Vet! (illustrated by Michael Smollin); Wacky Wednesday (illustrated by George Booth); and Would You Rather Be a Bullfrog? (illustrated by Roy McKie). He loves the entire collection but we usually read I Wish That I Had Duck Feet and he loves it.

These are our favorites right now.  What books do your kids currently love to read?

Thanks for reading,

AM

3 thoughts on “What we love to read February 2016

Leave a Reply

