My Life

Gone Again

This week my husband had to leave again for work.  For this trip, he will be gone for a little over 2 months.  His leaving for work is nothing new for us but it never gets easier.  I have a pretty amazing husband and he is 100% involved in everything in our house.  The trouble with this is that his absence always leaves us with a huge void to fill.

It is also inevitable that once he is gone something will break or go wrong.  Here is a small list of some of what has gone wrong in the past 🙂

The break line of our car got a leak

Lawn mower belt broke

I clogged the lawn mower with damp grass and it stopped running

I closed the garage door on the bumper of our car and broke the garage door of the hinge.

The dryer decided it wanted to keep spinning after it had dried the clothes.  It didn’t continue to blow air just spun and spun and spun.  The only way to stop it was to unplug it.

For this trip, something broke about 3 days after he left.  My kitchen drawer that holds all of my pans got stuck closed.  Now I thought it would be something simple like a handle in the way or that it came off the tracks but of course, it wasn’t that easy.  Somehow the drawer support on the underside of the drawer came loose and fell just enough that it hit the cabinet and wouldn’t allow it to open.

Now all of these things are not a big deal and I am perfectly capable of getting things fixed on my own.  I am also super lucky to have some great friends and neighbors that always help me when I need it, but why does it always happen.  I don’t have an answer for that, but what I do know is that all of these trivial things have made me a stronger person.  I remember the first time my husband left after our son was born.  I was scared to death.  I didn’t know how I could possibly be left alone with a 1-month-old baby.  I cried and cried and begged him not to go.  Now when he leaves, I am of course sad, but I also know that we will be fine.  I know that no matter what happens we will get through it 🙂

What are some silly things that have gone wrong while your spouse has been away?

Thanks for reading,

AM

3 thoughts on “Gone Again

  1. When we got married my hubs was in the military, and even now as a civilian he still has to go out of town on occasion for work. Something always goes wrong. It makes me appreciate him more when he’s home. 🙂 Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When my husband was away at a company retreat soon after we were married and had just bought our first home, I was sleeping when the A/C unit leaked in the attic and the master bedroom ceiling feel in on me and dripped constantly. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

