Food We Love

Split Pea Soup

My husband is a pretty simple guy and doesn’t want much.  His birthday is a few days after Christmas and all he ever asks for is for me to make him split pea soup.  Our Christmas menu will always include ham because I use the leftovers to make this delicious soup.

I have been making this version of split pea soup for his birthday since we were dating and now it is a must every year.  When we were dating we were talking about new things to make as a couple and split pea soup came up.  I mentioned that my Mom always made a great one and we decided to get the recipe so we could give it a shot.  Well, it turns out that my Mom’s version was printed on the bag of Safeway Green Split Peas.  I used the bag as my recipe reminder for years until one day it was no longer on the bag.  I was so bummed.  I knew most of the recipe by heart and have slightly tweaked it to fit our family, but loved that I always had a backup so I could double check all of my measurements.  Well after searching the internet I found that someone else loved this version and had written about it.  Thank you to Cooking on the Side for posting it for me 🙂 Please check out Cooking on the Side for the official recipe.

Here is our version (I like extra carrots and celery so I usually use 3 but 2 works great and have had used 1 or 2 onions and both work great too.  For me it’s usually what I have on hand.)

Split Pea Soup 

Ingredients:

Olive oil
1 or 2 onions (chopped)
2 or 3 carrots (peeled and chopped)
2 or 3 celery stalks (chopped)
1 leftover ham bone with a little meat still attached
A few slices of left over ham cut into small pieces (remove the fat)
4 bay leaves
3 quarts (12 cups) water
1 one pound bag green split peas (rinsed)
1 teaspoon dried thyme

DIRECTIONS:

In a large pot saute onions, carrots, and celery using as much olive oil as you need so things don’t stick to your pan.  Saute until onions and celery soften.

IMG_3500        IMG_3502

Add water, ham bone and bay leaves. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 2-2 1/2 hours. Remove ham bone. Shred meat into bite-size pieces and return to stock. Now depending on how much meat was left on the bone you can also now add your left over cut up sliced ham.  Add as much as you want 🙂 I wait until now to do that because sometimes I end up having more on the bone than I originally think and don’t always need more. Discard bones.

Next you add the peas and thyme.  I try to remember to wait until now to rinse the peas.  If you do it ahead of time they turn into a pea block and make a big splash when you dump them in the pot 🙂 Simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, for 1 1/2 hours or until peas dissolve and the soup thickens. Remove bay leaves and serve.

 

FullSizeRender

We pair with ham sandwiches for dunking in the soup 🙂  Hope you enjoy as much as we do!

Thanks for reading this,

AM

Leave a Reply

